Friday, April 25, 2014

ARC Review: The Accidental Duchess by Madeline Hunter

Mass Market Paperback, 400 pages
Expected publication: June 3rd 2014 by Jove 

From New York Times bestselling author Madeline Hunter comes this seductive tale of a headstrong young lady, a scandalous manuscript, and the iron-willed duke determined to save her from her ruin. For fans of Mary Balogh, Eloisa James, and Julia Quinn.

When Lady Lydia Thornton is blackmailed over the shocking contents of a manuscript she once wrote, she must go to the most desperate of measures to raise the money to buy back the ill-considered prose: agreeing to an old wager posed by the arrogant, dangerous Duke of Penthurst. At least Penthurst is a man she wouldn’t mind fleecing—and she’s confident she’ll win.

Penthurst long ago concluded Lydia was a woman in search of ruinous adventure, but even he is surprised when she arrives at his house ready to bet her innocence against his ten thousand pounds—a wager he only proposed to warn her off gambling.

When she loses to a simple draw of the cards, Lydia is shocked. Now, her problems are twofold: a blackmailer determined to see her pay and a duke determined to tame her rebellious ways. One misstep and Lydia could find herself ruined—or bound to the seductive man who would make her his duchess.




Amazon(Pre-order)
Barnes and Noble (Pre-order)

I did find this book just a great as all of Madeline Hunter's work.   I was thrilled to be chosen to receive an ARC of this book.
 Lady Lydia is just very headstrong, and wishes to be completely independant.  So much so, that when she finds herself in deep trouble she refuses to ask for help, going so far as to sneaking around trying to fix the situation.  Which as you can imagine, just makes matters worse.
Penthurst, well he seems at first like a stick in the mud or a snob for sure.  But we see how he truly cares about others and tries to help Lady Lydia.
I do understand the frustration Lydia must have felt, wanting to be "free", having some freedom but just not completely.  Although, I understand why she felt the need to try to fix her own problems, but when her Blackmailer kept changing things up, I don't understand why she didn't go to someone then.
 This is book 4 in the series, but I only read book 1 before this.  I was not completely thrown off balance with what is going on or had happened.  So I think its safe to say that you don't have to read the whole series before this one, but it would help to piece together the little details.  I know I will eventually get to book 2 & 3.





Madeline Hunter
Madeline Hunter is a nationally bestselling author of historical romances who lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and two sons. In a parallel existence to the one she enjoys as a novelist, she has a Ph.D. in art history and teaches at an East Coast university.